Sermon Summary
The Blessing of the Seven Spirits of God

Scripture: Revelation 5:6-10

The 7 spirits are described as 7 horns and 7 eyes. Revelation 4:5 speaks of the 7 spirits of God as the 7 lamps burning. 7 horns, 7 eyes, and 7 lamps are referring to the different aspects of the work of the spirit of God.

Horns represent ruling power and authority. The 7 horns refer to the 7 spirits of God. The 7 spirits give us the power and authority to rule, just as God gave Adam the authority to rule over all creatures.

The 7 eyes in the Bible speak of the spiritual eyes, understanding the spiritual realm and spiritual world of God and works of God.
The 7 lamps represent the Word of God enlightening and shining light into the darkness of our understanding. Enlightenment allows us to wake up to the truth.

Without the blessing of the 7 spirits of God, we will only fall into temptation and the beast’s persecution. The difference for those on the earth is whether we will receive the spirit and the mark of the beast, or receive the spirit of God and the seal of God. Those who receive the 7 spirits of God, will be lifted to the heavenly realm spiritually. Just as Jesus did not come down to this earth to dwell forever, Jesus came down to this earth to take us up to heaven (Revelation 12:12).

7 is the number of completion and perfection. 7 spirits speaks of the perfect spirit of God, it speaks of the different works of the spirit of God.

1. The spirit of wisdom and understanding

When we receive the blessing of God’s spirit, God will give us the blessing of wisdom and understanding (Isaiah 11:2). In the Bible, those who works on the tabernacle and temple were described as people who had skills, wisdom and understanding (Exodus 36:1). Unless God gives us His spirit, we will not have the understanding and wisdom to do His work.
In doing God’s kingdom work, we need to receive His spirit, or we may do all kinds of things that will not be acceptable to God. Let us pray that God will give us wisdom, His spirit so that we can have wisdom and understanding to do His work in the way He wants to have it done.
What is the blessing of wisdom of God?

a. The blessing of the Word of creation (Proverbs 3:19-20)
God created the whole world through the Word of God. God equated the Word of creation with wisdom. When we receive the spirit of God, He will give us the understanding, which is none other than the Word of creation. If the power of God’s creation Word is in us, there is nothing impossible for us.
b. The blessing of ruling and judging rightly (Proverbs 8:15-16)
It is by wisdom that we can rule and judge rightly. It is the wisdom to do things right according to how God created things, following the order that God put His creatures in.
c. The blessing of wealth and righteousness (Proverbs 8:18-21)
May we be filled with these blessings, spiritually and physically, in heaven and on earth. According to Matthew 24:44-46, it is those who are wise and sensible slaves, that the master gives the task to rule over the household (Proverbs 3:18-19)

2. The Spirit of counsel and strength (Isaiah 11:2)

Counsel is עֵצָה (etzah) in Hebrew, which means counsel, decision. When we have the spirit of God, we have the spirit of counsel and decision. In other words, we can understand God’s decisions. If we knew God’s plan and decision, that would make us more confident in our lives of faith, which would give us strength (Psalm 33:11, Psalm 73:24, Psalm 106:11-15).

When we do not understand God’s counsel, we will tempt God, rebel against God, and go against God’s decisions. May we receive the spirit of God, not only to receive wisdom, but that wisdom allows us to understand God’s plans and decisions to choose the right way. These are the ones whom God can entrust His work to.

3. The spirit of knowledge and fear of the Lord (Isaiah 11:2)

Those who receive the spirit of God will be filled with the knowledge of Him. The result of knowing God is the fear of the Lord. Without the fear of the Lord, we human beings will end up seeking that glory for ourselves. We the true children of God, who have the fear of the Lord in us, lift up glory to the Lord. All the glory belongs to the Lord.

4. The spirit of God is described as the spirit of glory (1 Peter 4:14)

God is promising that He will share His glory with you in the end. Those who have God’s spirit will see the glory resting on you. Satan will see the spirit of glory resting on your head. Satan cannot approach and come closer to you if the spirit of God’s glory rests on you. This is the blessing that allows us to partake in His glory and reminds us that no matter how difficult this world and life may be, God has so much glory to share with us in the kingdom of God.

5. The spirit of truth (John 16:13)

He will disclose to you what is to come. When we receive the spirit of God, we will be able to understand the things to come, things of the end times. He will help us to prepare.

6. The spirit of holiness (Romans 1:3-4)

Outwardly Jesus seemed like a human being but He had the spirit of holiness and He is the Son of God. We must receive the spirit of holiness, for us to become clean. It is the spirit of holiness, the spirit of purity that will wash us of our sins, to prepare us as a bride made ready for the groom (Jeremiah 2:22).

7. The spirit of life (Romans 8:2)

It is because of that spirit, that even Jesus who died, He resurrected. The spirit of the Father raised Jesus up from death. May we receive that spirit of life, so we may receive the blessing of resurrection and transfiguration.


Without the spirit of God, we live in hell. It is the spirit of God that allows us to hope and praise him, and allows us to experience joy in the midst of hardships, looking forward to victory and salvation in the end. It is the spirit of God that protects us from the dragon and the beast in the end times (Acts 2:17, Joel 2:28). It is those who receive the spirit of God, who can praise God and honour God and glorify Him (Romans 8:9).
Those who have the 7 spirits of God will receive the seal of God (Revelation 5:11-13). These are descriptions of God’s spirit: Wisdom, might, honour, glory and blessing. Those who received the spirit of God were sealed by God in Revelation 7:9-12, clothed in white robes (Revelation 7:13-16). These are the ones who can praise the Lord and worship before the throne. May Zion Church receive the 7 spirits of God, and may we be able to praise Him.


Pastor Samuel Kim